Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Daily Flix - Slow Load

Pending

  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 kwacka

kwacka

    I scared a few sheep in the process as well

  • Library
  • 2,428 posts
  • Joined: 18-October 11
  • LocationLondon

Posted 16 January 2012 - 01:17 PM

Right, everytime i come on here, at home and work the site takes an age to load.
Is it the amount of avaters on every thread?

no other site does it to me bar this one.
As an example if i pop back to Qss it loads straight off, into thread....no bother, another footie site i use same eay as you like.

back here, 10/15secs to let the site load up

I am on virgin 30mb BB so dont know what he story is other than there is too much going on, on the front page



any ideas folks?

Enjoyed the book? Please, support the author
Dead Links? Please,  PM me!

 

With Tusfiles
Untick the box , and use the Direct Download Link button


#2 litha

litha

    Advanced Member

  • Board
  • 1,357 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 16 January 2012 - 01:36 PM

The site loads quickly for me,have you cleared you cache? Try that and see if that helps
  • thelivingdead likes this

#3 kwacka

kwacka

    I scared a few sheep in the process as well

  • Library
  • 2,428 posts
  • Joined: 18-October 11
  • LocationLondon

Posted 16 January 2012 - 02:06 PM

nothing to do with that litha, its fine

Enjoyed the book? Please, support the author
Dead Links? Please,  PM me!

 

With Tusfiles
Untick the box , and use the Direct Download Link button


#4 CaFF

CaFF

    Resident Caffeine King

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,730 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11
  • LocationNear a beer.

Posted 16 January 2012 - 03:40 PM

Could just be your routing is having a bad day. Site load fine here and I have like 1/4 of your speeds.

Perhaps try a traceroute and see if it's bogging down somewhere perhaps?
  • start menu >> run >> cmd (then hit enter)
  • then this: tracert dailyflix.net (then hit enter)

from here in the U.S., I'm getting 14 hops and around 240ms for the trip. Not bad for the other side of the world. :)
Think outside of the Fox - Use Opera!
KMplayer - The best media player for Windows.
PotPlayer -AKA- KMplayer Reloaded (has a 64-bit version!)

ERROR: C:UserCoffee.sys not detected!
M)ake coffee, (G)o back to bed, (S)cream?

#5 redeye2

redeye2

    Advanced Member

  • Global
  • 1,525 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 16 January 2012 - 03:48 PM

You might want to test your connection at Speedtest.
Unplugging and replugging in your router will usually give you a new (better?) connection.

#6 litha

litha

    Advanced Member

  • Board
  • 1,357 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 16 January 2012 - 07:42 PM

nothing to do with that litha, its fine

The reason why I asked is becasue in FF and to some extent explorer cookies can get corrupted or Mal formed causing the site to load slow. But if you so sure it has nothing to do with you problem its good. Why then would just one site give you issues?

#7 trifke

trifke

    ♥Sexiest Asshat of 2012 - 2013 - 2014♥

  • Global
  • 593 posts
  • Joined: 16-October 11

Posted 16 January 2012 - 11:23 PM

Right, everytime i come on here, at home and work the site takes an age to load.
Is it the amount of avaters on every thread?

no other site does it to me bar this one.
As an example if i pop back to Qss it loads straight off, into thread....no bother, another footie site i use same eay as you like.

back here, 10/15secs to let the site load up

I am on virgin 30mb BB so dont know what he story is other than there is too much going on, on the front page



any ideas folks?


...same thing for me aswell, dailyflix is the slowest site to load regardless of where i am or which computer i use...
  • iceman247 likes this

5533b-4e3fa_pulling_up_jeans.gif

 


#8 redeye2

redeye2

    Advanced Member

  • Global
  • 1,525 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 24 January 2012 - 05:25 PM

I getting slow page-loads now too - about 15-20 seconds.
Is something going on with the forum?
Are any special settings needed?

Other sites are loading at normal speeds.

#9 frukit

frukit

    10 will get you 20!

  • Poison Divas
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,134 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11

Posted 24 January 2012 - 05:30 PM

loading fine for me.

PM Me for dead link re ups :)

Do You Prefer XviD/AVI With AC3 or MP3?

Almost all of my posts will have XviD/Avi versions...

If you would like me to repost any of my ac3 links with mp3 audio. Please send me a PM and I will do it :)


#10 CaFF

CaFF

    Resident Caffeine King

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,730 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11
  • LocationNear a beer.

Posted 24 January 2012 - 10:01 PM

It might have to do with the dailytunes.org bit at the bottom.
Here, that domain isn't loading at all and thus the browser was continuing to try and load that frame content even though the rest of the DF forum had loaded.
Think outside of the Fox - Use Opera!
KMplayer - The best media player for Windows.
PotPlayer -AKA- KMplayer Reloaded (has a 64-bit version!)

ERROR: C:UserCoffee.sys not detected!
M)ake coffee, (G)o back to bed, (S)cream?

#11 iceman247

iceman247

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Joined: 13-October 11

Posted 25 January 2012 - 12:11 AM

Superfast here

"like the camtasia ad lol just posted it muhaaa"

Edited by iceman247, 25 January 2012 - 12:13 AM.

Posted Image


#12 huntbch

huntbch

    Advanced Member

  • Board
  • 2,283 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11
  • Locationsector 10

Posted 25 January 2012 - 05:57 AM

It might have to do with the dailytunes.org bit at the bottom.
Here, that domain isn't loading at all and thus the browser was continuing to try and load that frame content even though the rest of the DF forum had loaded.


Posted Image

Caff you talking about this! I noticed this also maybe that's the problem just started.

Used to be all black.from ad-block

Edited by huntbch, 25 January 2012 - 06:02 AM.

rgp3d.png

R.I.P. Chris friend & brother


#13 CaFF

CaFF

    Resident Caffeine King

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,730 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11
  • LocationNear a beer.

Posted 25 January 2012 - 07:29 AM

SImple, the domain that is supposed to be loading in the frame no longer is.
I don't wana deny MrB revenue, but I had to block it for DF to load properly.
Think outside of the Fox - Use Opera!
KMplayer - The best media player for Windows.
PotPlayer -AKA- KMplayer Reloaded (has a 64-bit version!)

ERROR: C:UserCoffee.sys not detected!
M)ake coffee, (G)o back to bed, (S)cream?

#14 kwacka

kwacka

    I scared a few sheep in the process as well

  • Library
  • 2,428 posts
  • Joined: 18-October 11
  • LocationLondon

Posted 25 January 2012 - 08:40 AM

the last thing to load is always the little avaters and the big box at the bottom is blocked/not loading anyways.

still takes an age

Enjoyed the book? Please, support the author
Dead Links? Please,  PM me!

 

With Tusfiles
Untick the box , and use the Direct Download Link button


#15 poohluvs

poohluvs

    Sexy Mamma

  • Global
  • 462 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11
  • LocationTwinkling star in the sky

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:09 AM

Same issue here, makes it hard to get around site or post anything due to the loading page issue :(


poohluvssigfordlfx.png


#16 Merciless

Merciless

    Outlaw

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,683 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11

Posted 26 January 2012 - 10:13 AM

I use firefox and its working OK.

With ADP I have the Easylist, Adversity & Pop-up Block List, I also use "Tweak Network" and I have "Better Privacy".

http://www.dailyflix...dpost__p__46861

Also try this tweak.

http://www.dailyflix...dpost__p__46863

:)

Edited by Merciless, 26 January 2012 - 10:14 AM.


#17 redeye2

redeye2

    Advanced Member

  • Global
  • 1,525 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 26 January 2012 - 04:11 PM

@Merciless - I just installed the Tweak Network FF Add-on, and to my surprise, it does seem to have improved the speed on the Forum.
I still have to test it more, but so far, it is a welcome improvement - I used your settings as indicated in the image on your linked page.
Before Tweak, some page loads were taking aabout 15 seconds. Now those same pages seem to be taking about half that time.

I'm starting to think that all the member images that load on most pages are causing the slowdown on my PC.
Just a guess.

Is there a way to turn them all off?

Another possible culprit is the Chat section, which loads even though I have it "minimized," then it closes.
Seems to me it should start closed, if that is a member's personal settings. :shrug:

Edited by redeye2, 26 January 2012 - 04:17 PM.


#18 CaFF

CaFF

    Resident Caffeine King

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,730 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11
  • LocationNear a beer.

Posted 26 January 2012 - 06:17 PM

I keep the global SB disabled...that might be one big resource hog for ya. It's in the prefs on the shoutbox page.

If you mean member's sigs and such, IDK if you can globally disable them but you can ignore a particular member's sig using the CP.

http://www.dailyflix...ea=ignoredusers
Think outside of the Fox - Use Opera!
KMplayer - The best media player for Windows.
PotPlayer -AKA- KMplayer Reloaded (has a 64-bit version!)

ERROR: C:UserCoffee.sys not detected!
M)ake coffee, (G)o back to bed, (S)cream?

#19 redeye2

redeye2

    Advanced Member

  • Global
  • 1,525 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 26 January 2012 - 07:59 PM

I keep the global SB disabled...that might be one big resource hog for ya. It's in the prefs on the shoutbox page.


Posted Image


If you mean member's sigs and such, IDK if you can globally disable them but you can ignore a particular member's sig using the CP.

http://www.dailyflix...ea=ignoredusers

For the members images, I'm talking about the little ones like those that are on right hand side of the main page: http://www.dailyflix.net/
I just counted them. There are 36 for the way I have the home page configured. Each one is a miniature of the member's avatar. That seems like a lot of images to have to load every time the page loads.

Edited by redeye2, 26 January 2012 - 08:02 PM.


#20 CaFF

CaFF

    Resident Caffeine King

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,730 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11
  • LocationNear a beer.

Posted 26 January 2012 - 08:11 PM

They all are just thumbs of the Av's...and they seem to be like around 100x100 and 4-5kb each so unless you're on a very slow connection, I don't see how you'd even notice it.

Perhaps your "max connections" setting in the browser is set too low?
Opera's default is 16 per server and 64 max and seems to work fine.


Something to think about: if peeps are using wi-fi, check your connect speed....you might have 15M cable, but a fraction of that in actual wireless speed.

My mom's house has something like 20M cable, but just going across the room from the router via wi-fi, the computer gets max of around 3-6M. She has a 2.4Ghz wireless phone...as is the router. Changing channels helps, but it's not perfect.

Then, there's Torrents...they will slam your consumer router like a brick shithouse if you let them. Easy to saturate the bandwidth in seconds if ya don't use QoS.

Edited by CaFF, 26 January 2012 - 08:20 PM.

Think outside of the Fox - Use Opera!
KMplayer - The best media player for Windows.
PotPlayer -AKA- KMplayer Reloaded (has a 64-bit version!)

ERROR: C:UserCoffee.sys not detected!
M)ake coffee, (G)o back to bed, (S)cream?

#21 Merciless

Merciless

    Outlaw

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,683 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11

Posted 27 January 2012 - 04:39 AM

To block all images on Dailyflix in Firefox:

Tools > Options > Content > Load Images Automatically > Exceptions > Copy and paste "http://www.dailyflix.net/" > Block

Edited by Merciless, 27 January 2012 - 04:42 AM.


#22 redeye2

redeye2

    Advanced Member

  • Global
  • 1,525 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 28 January 2012 - 04:20 PM

To block all images on Dailyflix in Firefox:

Tools > Options > Content > Load Images Automatically > Exceptions > Copy and paste "http://www.dailyflix.net/" > Block


Thanks Merciless. :)
That did help some on the home page, and the main pages to various forums, but it didn't help much when launching a specific topic.

The problem with the slow loads started getting really bad for me about a week or so ago. The Forum was starting to slow down some before that.
Some page loads take 20 seconds now!
This makes the Forum very difficult to use, or to do anything on it. :(
The problem only happens on this site.
It does seem to be related to how images are retrieved.

Perhaps a different skin might help.
Again, I'll have to do some more testing.

Edit: Just tested the different themes/skins available on the Forum. As one would expect, that didn't make any difference.
But, I discovered that the Forum has some very nice skins.
Thanks to all the members who made them available. B)

Edited by redeye2, 28 January 2012 - 05:49 PM.


#23 Merciless

Merciless

    Outlaw

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,683 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11

Posted 29 January 2012 - 06:37 AM

My last idea...

Download Auslogic Boostspeed v4.5 and try there Internet optimizer, also try the mobile theme :)

Edited by Merciless, 29 January 2012 - 08:28 AM.


#24 huntbch

huntbch

    Advanced Member

  • Board
  • 2,283 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11
  • Locationsector 10

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:20 AM

Seems like its working ok for me,sometimes lags but not that bad wonder if the shoutbox has something to do with it.

Because when i use other sites with no shoutbox, like sinkingship site works smoother no lag , just a thought!

I know i was having issues with the refresh button so i hid it (pref.) kept jumping around.

But overall site works great ! :)

Edited by huntbch, 29 January 2012 - 07:48 AM.

rgp3d.png

R.I.P. Chris friend & brother


#25 redeye2

redeye2

    Advanced Member

  • Global
  • 1,525 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 29 January 2012 - 04:42 PM

I think may have tracked down part of the problem.
I have both AdBlock Plus, and NoScript.
I turned off AdBlock Plus, but that didn't make any difference, so I switched it back on.
I then did a Reset on NoScript: Click on the NoScript "S" icon, click "Options..." in the drop-down menu, click the "Reset" button, then "OK."

That reduced the load times from 15-20 seconds to about 10 seconds on the main pages, and even shorter times when clicking on a specific topic.
This is by no means fast, but it does indicate that the slow loading is probably due to that and other NoScript settings.
More testing, etc. is needed, as the results are inconsistent. :unsure:

If any other members are having problems with slow loading pages, and you're also using NoScript, you may want to try the "Reset" button in it.
If you do, please report back your results. Thanks :)

Edit: I did more testing, and the page loads are still slow. :sad:

Edited by redeye2, 02 February 2012 - 08:41 PM.

  • thelivingdead likes this

#26 redeye2

redeye2

    Advanced Member

  • Global
  • 1,525 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:41 PM

I did a bunch more testing. The forum runs fine in IE - About 3 seconds to load a page.
The Forum loads slowly in FF (currently using version 10) when running NoScript.
Pages load in about 3 seconds when I turn off Noscript.
Even though I've got the Forum listed in NoScript's "Whitelist," page loads are usually very slow - About 10 to 15 seconds.

Conclusion: NoScript is not playing nicely with the Forum. Any time page loads require getting images, etc. from outside the Forum, NoScript slows down the retrieval of the data. I haven't been able to find a nice workable solution for this. Whitelisting the Forum should have solved it, but it didn't work.
I keep NoScript, etc. all up to date.

#27 huntbch

huntbch

    Advanced Member

  • Board
  • 2,283 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11
  • Locationsector 10

Posted 03 February 2012 - 02:32 AM

I also updated to FF10 i'm not using NoScript maybe that's why everything seems to be loading & working fine!

I had NoScript awhile ago but had some issues with it.

rgp3d.png

R.I.P. Chris friend & brother


#28 kumquat

kumquat

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Joined: 07-February 12

Posted 08 February 2012 - 04:41 PM

I'm not using NoScript and am having the same slow loading/scrolling issues.

#29 Matt

Matt

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • 11,078 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 12

Posted 08 February 2012 - 04:55 PM

I'm using google chrome and it works fine here.

I only post the links, All credit goes to the uploaders.

If any of the links I post is not working let me know so I can replace them.

gMQGhQA.png

http://watchingforlinks.com/

 


#30 kumquat

kumquat

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Joined: 07-February 12

Posted 08 February 2012 - 07:35 PM

Is there a way to just make the chat box completely disappear?

I use Firefox. Not comfortable with Chrome's datamining and find Safari and IE both lousy.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Pending

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users