Jump to content


Photo
* - - - - 2 votes

Billionuploads has bad viruses, watch out!

Pending

  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 jmarcroyal

jmarcroyal

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 12

Posted 08 May 2012 - 07:35 PM

I dont know if anyone else has had problems with this site but it got me bad the other day. It gave me a bunch of Trojan Horse Viruses and then my computer locked up because of some Ransomware or Scareware. Look up CSIS UKASH to see the problem I dealt with. Basically the system was locked, couldnt access anything at all, the only thing on the screen was some Canadian Government looking warning that said my computer had child porn on it and it was used for terrorist activities and that I had to pay $100 in UKASH to unlock my computer.

couldnt even access start menu, antivirus, couldnt even turn off the computer. Had to force a shutdown and tried to reboot in safemode. It worked at first and I ran a Virus Scan with AVG, after a long time it finished and removed a few trojan's, so I restarted the computer normally, and the problem was still there. Thank god I had my iPhone with me so I looked up online and people said a simple system restore should solve problems.

So I started up again in safemode, but It wasnt booting up, it kept freezing. After nearly an hour of trying, I finally got it to start up in safemode and was able to run a System Restore. Ive had problems with it before so I wasnt sure it would work, but thankfully it did work. At the end of the day, this Ransomware didnt cause any serious damage but it did drive me crazy for over 3 hours all because I tried to watch a show on Billionuploads.
  • braveheart47 likes this

#2 RobinBanks

RobinBanks

    Global Ovulator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Joined: 13-October 11
  • LocationTuna Mountain

Posted 08 May 2012 - 07:40 PM

I am using adblock and noscript so i don't see what all is going on on the BillionUpload page but i have never had an Eset Anti-Virus warning on that site.
Did you click an ad?

END:CIV

Posted Image

We're here to learn.


#3 paco12345

paco12345

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined: 26-October 11

Posted 08 May 2012 - 07:48 PM

just got me too....froze totally

#4 jmarcroyal

jmarcroyal

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 12

Posted 08 May 2012 - 08:15 PM

I am using adblock and noscript so i don't see what all is going on on the BillionUpload page but i have never had an Eset Anti-Virus warning on that site.
Did you click an ad?


never clicked the links

#5 rotor

rotor

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,521 posts
  • Joined: 28-February 12
  • Locationthe north

Posted 08 May 2012 - 08:20 PM

i only clicked a link because i popped up just when i wanted the download link. eset stomped it, but im not going back. thanks for the heads up.

tumblr_ncpu6z51I01taggvho2_250.gif

 

 


#6 RobinBanks

RobinBanks

    Global Ovulator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Joined: 13-October 11
  • LocationTuna Mountain

Posted 08 May 2012 - 08:29 PM

Sometimes host sites have ads which slip in nasty things. I would imagine that BillionUploads is taking care of it.

END:CIV

Posted Image

We're here to learn.


#7 moonshine4u

moonshine4u

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 483 posts
  • Joined: 31-March 12
  • LocationBackwoods Near You

Posted 08 May 2012 - 08:49 PM

:ohmy: I use their site and have never had a problem guess my pc is well protected and working (never click on an ad :)
  • braveheart47 likes this

#8 anaberration

anaberration

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • 909 posts
  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • LocationTannhäuser Gate

Posted 08 May 2012 - 10:08 PM

KIS warns,blocks and denies trojans from those banners on that site anytime I've tried an use it...hafta raise your security programs settings until you
almost knock yourself offline, shame.....

Razors pain you;
Rivers are damp;
Acids stain you;

And drugs cause cramp.
Guns aren't lawful;
Nooses give;                                                                         
Gas smells awful;
You might as well live.

My thanks to my friend Sara for my sig !

Our pain is the toll we pay to the ferryman at our journeys' end...Anaberration

 


#9 BadKarma

BadKarma

    V.P. of Evil Schemes and Nefarious Plans

  • TV Mod Crew
  • 492 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 11
  • Location, Location , Location.

Posted 08 May 2012 - 10:24 PM

Was the show any good?
  • btownwhat33 likes this

bQkgp.png


all of my sigs by Arnprior

 
Ludo fore putavimus


#10 Ne12

Ne12

    The Multitasker

  • Global
  • 11,779 posts
  • Joined: 05-November 11
  • LocationOut There...

Posted 09 May 2012 - 12:09 AM

Yeah, That's the one I "caught" on the computer at work last week and it was also from billionuploads. I kind of took it for granted that they would have better "protection" but seems they didn't and was actually worried about how I was going to explain it to my boss. Fortunately, it was gone the next day (boss never found out). I guess the network must have been protected anyway. :unsure:

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image



Thanks to all in the pirate community. It doesn't matter if you're a uploader, link hunter, downloader or whatever. Sharing IS caring! Please report dead links. :huggles:

IDLUSMWB


#11 huntbch

huntbch

    Advanced Member

  • Board
  • 2,470 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11
  • Locationsector 10

Posted 09 May 2012 - 02:26 AM

Thanks for the heads up. I also have used billionuploads had no issues .I do have good protection but think i'll stay away!Damn shame good fast loading. Also forgot i do use adblock plus very good .Thanks to text!

Edited by huntbch, 09 May 2012 - 05:19 AM.

rgp3d.png

R.I.P. Chris friend & brother


#12 TextureDnB

TextureDnB

    Chat Killer

  • Global
  • 1,011 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11

Posted 09 May 2012 - 03:20 AM

https://addons.mozil...n/adblock-plus/

is anyone who has been infected using Ad Block Plus? Usually if there is a virus issue with a host site that exists outside of advertizements we will take action. Comprimised ad networks/servers areunavoidable, we have even been hit here and at MrB.'s

Consider all adverts to be compromised - Block Them- https://addons.mozil...n/adblock-plus/
  • huntbch likes this

#13 DaBush

DaBush

    SuperHero

  • Retired Staff
  • 15,261 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 11

Posted 09 May 2012 - 03:26 AM

I'm using ad block plus & have had no problem with billionuploads I always check my encodes there, guess I might say something as I use that host for all my uploads.
  • huntbch likes this

#14 Ne12

Ne12

    The Multitasker

  • Global
  • 11,779 posts
  • Joined: 05-November 11
  • LocationOut There...

Posted 09 May 2012 - 03:32 AM

https://addons.mozil...n/adblock-plus/

is anyone who has been infected using Ad Block Plus? Usually if there is a virus issue with a host site that exists outside of advertizements we will take action. Comprimised ad networks/servers areunavoidable, we have even been hit here and at MrB.'s

Consider all adverts to be compromised - Block Them- https://addons.mozil...n/adblock-plus/



Unfortunately you need to have administrator status to be able to install anything on the comps at work...I took it for granted that they would have all the necessary protection (considering one of the neighboring councils had their network down for a week due to "Ransom" infection). I haven't had any problem with billionuploads in the past at home although I haven't visited them since the episode at work. I don't have AdBlock at home, just a regularly updated ESET Nod32 and "Do Not Track+". These seem to be working well enough for my private usage. :wink:

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image



Thanks to all in the pirate community. It doesn't matter if you're a uploader, link hunter, downloader or whatever. Sharing IS caring! Please report dead links. :huggles:

IDLUSMWB


#15 TextureDnB

TextureDnB

    Chat Killer

  • Global
  • 1,011 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 11

Posted 09 May 2012 - 03:41 AM


https://addons.mozil...n/adblock-plus/

is anyone who has been infected using Ad Block Plus? Usually if there is a virus issue with a host site that exists outside of advertizements we will take action. Comprimised ad networks/servers areunavoidable, we have even been hit here and at MrB.'s

Consider all adverts to be compromised - Block Them- https://addons.mozil...n/adblock-plus/



Unfortunately you need to have administrator status to be able to install anything on the comps at work...I took it for granted that they would have all the necessary protection (considering one of the neighboring councils had their network down for a week due to "Ransom" infection). I haven't had any problem with billionuploads in the past at home although I haven't visited them since the episode at work. I don't have AdBlock at home, just a regularly updated ESET Nod32 and "Do Not Track+". These seem to be working well enough for my private usage. :wink:


If they are using a modern OS and you can get IT to allow FireFox you should be able to install add ons extensions like APB without Admin creds. That can be prevented through group policy too but it is rarely done that I know of. Many companies wont allow any browser but IE anyway though, stupid but at the top there is always someone in charge of the IT staff that shouldnt be allowed near anything running more code than a calculator but they make all the big decisions.

Down with the boss!!!
  • Ne12 likes this

#16 Ne12

Ne12

    The Multitasker

  • Global
  • 11,779 posts
  • Joined: 05-November 11
  • LocationOut There...

Posted 09 May 2012 - 04:17 AM

We never get to meet the IT people....they do their "magic" from their location and we do ours where we are. I hate the fact that we use IE at work and aren't allowed to install anything. We can't even update anything! Because of this "policy" and control need they have I can only watch my movies/series at work through Flash (either that or a usb stick plugged into the tv).

When the local council got the Ransom bug on it's network a few weeks ago, I remember my son was pissed off at his teachers because the stupid IT people had informed the teachers that the students were not permitted to use their own computers (AT ALL) in school to minimize the risk of spreading it!? Like what the F*** does it matter if they use a computer for taking down notes during the class as long as they don't connect to the network...

Down with the boss...most definitely! But also down with incompetent IT people!! :bleh:
  • braveheart47 likes this

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image



Thanks to all in the pirate community. It doesn't matter if you're a uploader, link hunter, downloader or whatever. Sharing IS caring! Please report dead links. :huggles:

IDLUSMWB


#17 braveheart47

braveheart47

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • 29,634 posts
  • Joined: 10-February 12

Posted 09 May 2012 - 05:01 AM

I dont know if anyone else has had problems with this site but it got me bad the other day. It gave me a bunch of Trojan Horse Viruses and then my computer locked up because of some Ransomware or Scareware. Look up CSIS UKASH to see the problem I dealt with. Basically the system was locked, couldnt access anything at all, the only thing on the screen was some Canadian Government looking warning that said my computer had child porn on it and it was used for terrorist activities and that I had to pay $100 in UKASH to unlock my computer.

couldnt even access start menu, antivirus, couldnt even turn off the computer. Had to force a shutdown and tried to reboot in safemode. It worked at first and I ran a Virus Scan with AVG, after a long time it finished and removed a few trojan's, so I restarted the computer normally, and the problem was still there. Thank god I had my iPhone with me so I looked up online and people said a simple system restore should solve problems.

So I started up again in safemode, but It wasnt booting up, it kept freezing. After nearly an hour of trying, I finally got it to start up in safemode and was able to run a System Restore. Ive had problems with it before so I wasnt sure it would work, but thankfully it did work. At the end of the day, this Ransomware didnt cause any serious damage but it did drive me crazy for over 3 hours all because I tried to watch a show on Billionuploads.

Glad I came across this post. Did not use Billionuploads, have adblock,spyware, no script, etc. Shame it has to happen to ppl who don't have protection at work and at the same time cannot have control over it. Hope "the bosses" get their shit together and give some kind of administrative rights to workers.Can't see how one can go on the network "Naked" home or at work. Thanks for the heads up on CSIS UKASH though.You never know where these type of ransom bugs will show up next. :unsure:
  • Ne12 likes this

Braveheart47sigdailyflix.jpg


#18 Double Trouble

Double Trouble

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Joined: 08-November 11
  • LocationUSA

Posted 09 May 2012 - 06:33 AM

Order out of chaos. The more people whose computers are brought down - the more control they have over the net! Sandboxie should be all web-surfers best friend when it comes to browsing online. I've used Firefox with their addons and Sandboxie for years with zero infections, so when I hear of something like this happening - it's mind blowing! - because, coming down with a virus while surfing should be prehistoric these days, considering the free protection online like Sandboxie. So,I blame Yahoo, MSN and anyone who have the power to reach millions for not telling people about virtual protection - hence Oder out of Chaos.
  • Ne12 and braveheart47 like this

#19 Pravus

Pravus

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 12

Posted 09 May 2012 - 08:36 AM

For situations where you can't install addons or your on a machine thats not yours, you could always try to use something like Portable Apps version of firefox.. then you just plug your USB into your work machine and all your needed addons and such are on your browser.. also likely to be "safer" and "more secure" by at least a slight degree...

http://portableapps.com/

I was at a friends house once before I forced NoScript on him.. I was amazed how different some of the pages look, the random adds and music and sounds that I had never seen before.. I can't ever see using the internet without something like noscript again..
  • Merciless and Ne12 like this

#20 image

image

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Posted 09 May 2012 - 06:10 PM

Order out of chaos. The more people whose computers are brought down - the more control they have over the net! Sandboxie should be all web-surfers best friend when it comes to browsing online. I've used Firefox with their addons and Sandboxie for years with zero infections, so when I hear of something like this happening - it's mind blowing! - because, coming down with a virus while surfing should be prehistoric these days, considering the free protection online like Sandboxie. So,I blame Yahoo, MSN and anyone who have the power to reach millions for not telling people about virtual protection - hence Oder out of Chaos.


Thanks for the tip on sandboxie. Loving the program so far

#21 RobinBanks

RobinBanks

    Global Ovulator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Joined: 13-October 11
  • LocationTuna Mountain

Posted 09 May 2012 - 06:21 PM

To reiterate: using noscript and adblock plus with FireFox i have never experienced a problem with BillionUploads. I don't even see the banner ads. As has been said already if you ARE seeing any ads: NEVER CLICK ON THEM. Sorry to hear of the problems folks are having.

END:CIV

Posted Image

We're here to learn.


#22 hamzilla420

hamzilla420

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined: 03-February 12
  • LocationLockwood Sunset Yacht PSN Home .

Posted 09 May 2012 - 08:16 PM

I have to put my 2 cents in !
With my PS3 I never worry about viruses. I just frolick through & around the WWW like it is my own Playworld !
PSN was hacked , Yes, but WTF who cares I mean it wasting only 77 MILLION people right ?
It was a hack , not a trogan or a worm witch is is highly improbable , if not impossible !
For all it's shortcomings PS3 is TESTED & TRUE... NON REACTIVE !!!!

Posted Image

Posted Image


#23 hamzilla420

hamzilla420

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined: 03-February 12
  • LocationLockwood Sunset Yacht PSN Home .

Posted 09 May 2012 - 08:24 PM

I've never heard of a virus on PS3 !
ANYONE ?

Posted Image


#24 RobinBanks

RobinBanks

    Global Ovulator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Joined: 13-October 11
  • LocationTuna Mountain

Posted 09 May 2012 - 08:26 PM

A virus on a PS3 would be like brain damage to a lobotomized person. It would be too dumb to notice... :tongue:

No offense to PS3 users, just a comment on the limited capabilities of the Operating System.

END:CIV

Posted Image

We're here to learn.


#25 hamzilla420

hamzilla420

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined: 03-February 12
  • LocationLockwood Sunset Yacht PSN Home .

Posted 09 May 2012 - 09:02 PM

DUHH ME VIRUS FREE DUHH MONGO LIKE CANDY !

Posted Image


#26 hamzilla420

hamzilla420

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined: 03-February 12
  • LocationLockwood Sunset Yacht PSN Home .

Posted 09 May 2012 - 09:04 PM

Limited how ?

Posted Image


#27 hamzilla420

hamzilla420

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined: 03-February 12
  • LocationLockwood Sunset Yacht PSN Home .

Posted 09 May 2012 - 09:09 PM


Edited by hamzilla420, 09 May 2012 - 09:25 PM.

Posted Image


#28 hamzilla420

hamzilla420

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined: 03-February 12
  • LocationLockwood Sunset Yacht PSN Home .

Posted 09 May 2012 - 09:29 PM

wachugot ?

Posted Image


#29 RobinBanks

RobinBanks

    Global Ovulator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Joined: 13-October 11
  • LocationTuna Mountain

Posted 09 May 2012 - 09:37 PM

LOL. I honestly don't know much of the PS3. I've heard it is difficult or impossible to install programs on it. Can't unzip .rar files. Stuff like that. Great gaming platform apparently. Not a gamer so i'll shut my mouth... :zipit:

END:CIV

Posted Image

We're here to learn.


#30 DigitalSlurm

DigitalSlurm

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 12

Posted 10 May 2012 - 01:00 PM

always use billionuploads to download from if there is a choice of links. but then again I too use ps3, so no viruses.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Pending

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users